Keep Hope Alive

November 5, 2008 at 8:50 pm 2 comments

Yesterday, I was doubtful that we would turn around global warming.

Yesterday I had concerns about barriers that my children may face.

Yesterday, I believed that we may destroy ourselves and the world through conflict based on power, aggression and judgment.

Yesterday I felt an unshakable cynicism of the “haves” ever extending understanding and respect to the “have nots”.

Yesterday I didn’t feel very patriot nor especially proud of the recent course of my country.

A New Hope

Today I have hope.

Today, I believe that perhaps we will make the sacrifices to over come global warming.

Today, I believe that the barriers that my bi-racial children face will be pebbles rather than walls.

Today, I have hope that we can resolve the threat to our existence.

Today, I feel patriotic for the first time in my adult life.

The president elect is, admittedly,  a charismatic, inspiring, positive leader, with character, self discipline, understanding, and perseverance.  But he is only  the instrument of my hope, but not the reason for it.

The Reason for Hope

What truly gives me hope is that people of every color, of every background, and of nearly every economic class, (ok, I still have a little cynicism), have chosen a person of color to lead the nation, have chosen a policy of cooperation over competition, have committed to compassion instead of greed, and have upheld the value of service above of self serving.

Perhaps, the result of the election, was due in part to the dismal state of the economy. In the words of a republican statesman, “When your house is on fire, you don’t care what color the fireman is.”

It is a fine example of a cloud with a silver lining. But we must remember what created the original cloud when we finally see the sunshine again.

Even so, it gives us the opportunity to experience a new model of civilization.

I remain hopeful that we will recognize the benefits of a model of government that truly demonstrates equality and respect for all humans.

I have hope that we will realized that cooperation, compassion, and service is more valuable than our own self centered fear and greed.

And I pray that we will  protect this new spirit of good will towards all  from “perishing from the earth.”

Entry filed under: Piority, Motive and Intention. Tags: , , , , , .

Divided We Fail It Matters

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Grace  |  November 9, 2008 at 1:10 am

    I agree with you wholeheartedly. It’s not about making changes in government…it’s about changing government. It’s very exciting. I felt that turnaround too. Finally hope. Finally can tell myself it will be okay and mean it. Am sending intentiion out there for all who supported him to follow where he is taking us. We’ve not been there before but I know it’s a good place.

    Reply
  • 2. laurenpkennedy  |  November 10, 2008 at 9:49 am

    Thanks Grace,
    For your comment and for your enthusiasm for a change in direction and perhaps some growth in human consciousness.

    It does inspire hope that the majority of people could overlook differences and self centered fears and embrace a spirit of cooperation and unity.

    And I do think that the president elect has the very special and rare qualities to lead the country in a new direction.

    I’ll join you in sending positive intention for the country to unite behind his lead.

    Lauren

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Our life is an evolving creation, shaped by our choices, colored by our desires, and lightened or darkened by our intentions.
November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Recent Posts

Home, Coaching Service, About


